Skip to main content

Past and Present

You've searched: Past and Present

  • Subject: campuses
(28 results)



Display: 50

    • Old Main Hall dedication, 1888

    • Universities and colleges--History; Building dedications; Dedications; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; Assembly halls; Theological seminaries; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Old Main Hall; Student dormitories; Student...
    • The Dedication ceremony for Old Main Hall. Mr. H.A. Muelmeier officiated, in which he reminded his audience of the institution's roots in the missionary efforts of the church and he honored the memory of Dr. Bossard and Treasurer Kluge.
    • Lakeland campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall, ca. 1875

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; Rural land use; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; Old Main Hall; Student housing; Student dormitories; Residence halls; Assembly halls
    • The southeastern corner of the campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall. In the distance to the right are the three original main campus buildings, and to the left is Bossard Hall, which was completed in 1879.
    • Donation of the former Immanuel church building, 1911

    • Universities and colleges--History; Gymnasiums; Relocation; Assembly halls; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Theological seminaries; Renovations; Churches; Chapels; Religious buildings; Worship...
    • The nearby Immanuel congregation built a new church at a different location and donated this building to Mission House in 1911. Soon after, it became the school's new gymnasium.
    • Lakeland commencement ceremony, ca. 1919

    • Universities and colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Commencements; Ceremonies; Graduations; Graduates; Assembly halls; Theological seminaries; Mission House
    • This Lakeland commencement ceremony took place sometime around 1919. The marching band had begun to lead the crowd over to the new dormitory, Jubilee Hall. Currently known as Walter A. Kreuger Hall or Wak, Jubilee Hall was finished a year...
    • First Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis, 1887

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Academic buildings; College campuses; Alverno campus; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent; Motherhouses; Milwaukee Motherhouse of...
    • The first Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis, St. Joseph Convent, was erected in 1887. It was built to house St. Joseph Normal School, one of the three predecessor institutions that merged to form Alverno College. Until...
    • Milwaukee Motherhouse after fire, 1890

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Academic buildings; College campuses; Alverno campus; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent; School Sisters of Saint Francis;...
    • The first Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis, St. Joseph Convent, was erected in 1887. Unfortunately, it was destroyed by fire on March 31, 1890 (Holy Monday). Until 1953, Alverno's campus was at the Motherhouse.
    • The Music Wing of the Milwaukee Motherhouse (Saint Joseph Convent), ca. 1940-1949

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Monastic and religious life of women--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Music; Music education; Schools of music; Saint Joseph Convent Conversatory of Music; Alverno College of...
    • The Music Wing at the Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis (St. Joseph Convent) was used for music lessons until the new Alverno College campus was opened in 1953.
    • Second Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Women's higher education; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; School Sisters of Saint Francis; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent; College campuses; Alverno campus; Academic buildings;...
    • The first Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis, St. Joseph Convent, was erected in 1887. It was destroyed by fire on March 31, 1890 (Holy Monday). The second, rebuilt motherhouse, was dedicated on Saturday, May 2, 1891. Until...
    • Sacred Heart School of Nursing, on the grounds of Saint Joseph Convent

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Schools of nursing; Sacred Heart School of Nursing; Sanitariums; Sacred Heart Sanitarium; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent;...
    • Sacred Heart School of Nursing was started in 1930, with Sister M. Christopher McGuire as the founding director. The school was housed in the Sacred Heart Sanitarium building on the grounds of St. Joseph Convent from its beginnings in 1930 until...
    • Campbellsport Motherhouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis, 1874

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Motherhouses; Campbellsport Mothershouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis; Academic buildings; College campuses; Alverno...
    • This print appeared in the "Illustrated Historical Atlas of Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin," 1874. Depicted is the Congregation of the School Sisters of St. Francis, which was founded on April 28, 1874, in the mid-Wisconsin town of New Cassel, later...
    • Concordia campus, aerial view

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; College campuses; Concordia campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Academic buildings
    • An aerial view of the Concordia campus in Milwaukee, WI, looking north. Visible Concordia buildings include Wunder Dormitory, Pritzlaff Dormitories, and the Gymnasium Building. Also visible are the track, tennis courts, and baseball field. In...
    • Renovation of Wunder Hall dormitory, 1924

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; Wunder Hall; Student housing; Student dormitories; Construction; Renovations; College campuses; Concordia campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Academic buildings
    • Construction of Wunder Hall was begun in 1924 in response to the growth of enrollment during the post-war period.
    • Reading in Rincker Library

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; Academic buildings; Academic libraries; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; College campuses; Concordia campus; Students; Male students
    • Students reading in Rincker Library, with windows in background.
    • Trinity School, 1880

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; College campuses; Concordia campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Academic buildings
    • The basement of the Trinity School building is where Concordia College began. Classes were held in a basement room and the first students, from outside the Milwaukee area, were housed in the homes of Lutheran families.
    • Concordia student union, 1965

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; College campuses; Concordia campus; Academic buildings
    • The student union as it appeared during 1965.
    • Students of Saint Regina Academy, 1892

    • Universities and colleges--History; Saint Regina Academy; Edgewood Villa; Students; Student life; Children; College campuses; Edgewood campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Madison; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories; Dominican...
    • Students of St. Regina Academy on the Edgewood Villa steps, in 1892, the year before the fire. The youngest students, in white pinafores, are "minims." This picture is said to include at least two of the children who perished in the 1893 fire.
    • Native American burial mounds marker, 1915

    • Universities and colleges--History; Native Americans; Burial mounds; Effigy mounds; College campuses; Edgewood campus; Dominican Sisters of Sinsinawa
    • This Native American burial mounds marker was installed by the Wisconsin Archaeological Society in 1915. There are several Native American burial and effigy mounds on the Edgewood campus.
    • Native American effigy and burial mounds on the Edgewood campus

    • Universities and colleges--History; Native Americans; Effigy mounds; Burial mounds; College campuses; Edgewood campus; Dominican Sisters of Sinsinawa
    • This campus graphic was prepared in May 2003. It indicates the locations of the campus buildings as well as the Native American woodland tribes' effigy mounds, in the shapes of birds and animals, as well as the linear and conical tribe burial...
    • Edgewood Villa, ca. 1891

    • Universities and colleges--History; Saint Regina Academy; Edgewood Villa; Students; Student life; Children; College campuses; Edgewood campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Madison; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories; Dominican...
    • The Edgewood Villa front porch, with some St. Regina Academy students on the drive, circa 1891.
    • Cadwallader Colden Washburn, ca. 1871

    • Universities and colleges--History; College campuses; Edgewood campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Madison; Academic buildings; Washburn family; Governors; Cadwallader Colden Washburn; Dominican Sisters of Sinsinawa
    • Cadwallader Colden Washburn (1818-1882), shown here around 1871, was Governor of Wisconsin from 1872 through 1874. He donated the Edgewood campus property to the Dominican Sisters of Sinsinawa on September 5, 1881.
    • Ariel view of Lakeland Campus

    • Buildings; College campuses; Grounds
    • This ariel photograph was taken around the summer of 1963. The partially constructed campus center is in the middle left. The ground breaking ceremony for the campus center was held on Oct. 5th 1963, per the October edition of the Lakeland Mirror.
    • Annual clean up day, 1941

    • Students; Grounds; Gymnasiums; Athletics; Campuses; Buildings
    • Students have finished planting a tree in front of the library. Founders gymnasium is in the background.
    • Digging a hole for a tree, 1941

    • People; Students; Campuses; Buildings
    • The students in this photograph are identitified as W. Kuentzel and P. Schnake. They are taking part in the annual Clean-Up Day which took place on April 28th, 1941.
    • Watching baseball, 1942

    • People; Students; Campuses; Athletics; Baseball
    • The students in the photograph are identified as Zelda, Lois, and Eunice. They are watching a baseball grame, it appears, West of Prof. Row.
    • Students leaving commencement, 1942

    • Commencements; Ceremonies; Celebrations; Graduations; People; Students; Professors; Faculty; Staff; Campuses; Buildings; Gymnasiums
    • In this photograph graduates, professors, and family members are leaving the commencement exercises which were held in Founders Gymnasium.
    • Heading to chapel, 1942

    • Chapels; Religious groups; People; Students; Buildings; Campuses; Religious services; Churches
    • This photograph shows students heading out to Chapel from Jubilee Hall. Paul Olm is identified as leading the way.
    • Day of graduation, 1941

    • Commencements; Graduations; Ceremonies; People; Students; Buildings; Campuses
    • This photograph is labeled, "Mr. and Mrs. Dobay on the day of graduation. June 8th, 1941." Old Main is seen in the background.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK