Skip to main content

Past and Present

You've searched: Past and Present

  • Subject: buildings
(56 results)



Display: 50

    • Old Main Hall dedication, 1888

    • Universities and colleges--History; Building dedications; Dedications; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; Assembly halls; Theological seminaries; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Old Main Hall; Student dormitories; Student...
    • The Dedication ceremony for Old Main Hall. Mr. H.A. Muelmeier officiated, in which he reminded his audience of the institution's roots in the missionary efforts of the church and he honored the memory of Dr. Bossard and Treasurer Kluge.
    • Lakeland campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall, ca. 1875

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; Rural land use; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; Old Main Hall; Student housing; Student dormitories; Residence halls; Assembly halls
    • The southeastern corner of the campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall. In the distance to the right are the three original main campus buildings, and to the left is Bossard Hall, which was completed in 1879.
    • Donation of the former Immanuel church building, 1911

    • Universities and colleges--History; Gymnasiums; Relocation; Assembly halls; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Theological seminaries; Renovations; Churches; Chapels; Religious buildings; Worship...
    • The nearby Immanuel congregation built a new church at a different location and donated this building to Mission House in 1911. Soon after, it became the school's new gymnasium.
    • Lakeland commencement ceremony, ca. 1919

    • Universities and colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Commencements; Ceremonies; Graduations; Graduates; Assembly halls; Theological seminaries; Mission House
    • This Lakeland commencement ceremony took place sometime around 1919. The marching band had begun to lead the crowd over to the new dormitory, Jubilee Hall. Currently known as Walter A. Kreuger Hall or Wak, Jubilee Hall was finished a year...
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus, ca. 1875

    • North Hall; Assembly halls; Lakeland campus; Theological seminaries; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus. The center building came first in 1862. North Hall, the northernmost structure, was next, completed just prior to December 25, 1873. The south building was built last in 1876. (Description from "A...
    • First Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis, 1887

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Academic buildings; College campuses; Alverno campus; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent; Motherhouses; Milwaukee Motherhouse of...
    • The first Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis, St. Joseph Convent, was erected in 1887. It was built to house St. Joseph Normal School, one of the three predecessor institutions that merged to form Alverno College. Until...
    • Milwaukee Motherhouse after fire, 1890

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Academic buildings; College campuses; Alverno campus; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent; School Sisters of Saint Francis;...
    • The first Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis, St. Joseph Convent, was erected in 1887. Unfortunately, it was destroyed by fire on March 31, 1890 (Holy Monday). Until 1953, Alverno's campus was at the Motherhouse.
    • The Music Wing of the Milwaukee Motherhouse (Saint Joseph Convent), ca. 1940-1949

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Monastic and religious life of women--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Music; Music education; Schools of music; Saint Joseph Convent Conversatory of Music; Alverno College of...
    • The Music Wing at the Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis (St. Joseph Convent) was used for music lessons until the new Alverno College campus was opened in 1953.
    • Second Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Women's higher education; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; School Sisters of Saint Francis; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent; College campuses; Alverno campus; Academic buildings;...
    • The first Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis, St. Joseph Convent, was erected in 1887. It was destroyed by fire on March 31, 1890 (Holy Monday). The second, rebuilt motherhouse, was dedicated on Saturday, May 2, 1891. Until...
    • Sacred Heart School of Nursing, on the grounds of Saint Joseph Convent

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Schools of nursing; Sacred Heart School of Nursing; Sanitariums; Sacred Heart Sanitarium; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent;...
    • Sacred Heart School of Nursing was started in 1930, with Sister M. Christopher McGuire as the founding director. The school was housed in the Sacred Heart Sanitarium building on the grounds of St. Joseph Convent from its beginnings in 1930 until...
    • Campbellsport Motherhouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis, 1874

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Motherhouses; Campbellsport Mothershouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis; Academic buildings; College campuses; Alverno...
    • This print appeared in the "Illustrated Historical Atlas of Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin," 1874. Depicted is the Congregation of the School Sisters of St. Francis, which was founded on April 28, 1874, in the mid-Wisconsin town of New Cassel, later...
    • First graduation held at Holy Family College, 1959

    • Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity; Holy Family College; Silver Lake College of the Holy Family; Graduations; Graduates; Bishops; Bishop Stanislaus v. Bona; Reverends; Reverend D. F. Hurley; Religion; Worship; Worship centers; Catholic...
    • Sister M. Marta Simmons receives her Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Bishop Stanislaus V. Bona of the Green Bay Diocese at a baccalaureate ceremony following the cornerstone laying. Handing the diplomas to the Bishop is Reverend D. F....
    • President's residence, Milwaukee, WI campus

    • College presidents-Dwellings-Wisconsin; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; College buildings-Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Milwaukee (Wis.)-Buildings, structures, etc.
    • President's residence, built on the Milwaukee campus around 1896 for then president Rev. Max Albrecht.
    • Barth, G. Christian

    • College presidents; College teachers; Universities and colleges, faculty; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee;
    • Professor G. Christian Barth served as third president of Concordia College from 1921-1934. He was the first American born president of the college, born in Wisconsin in 1883. Barth served parishes in Nebraska and Missouri after graduating from...
    • Loeber, Christopher H.

    • College presidents; College teachers; Universities and colleges, faculty; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee;
    • Professor Christopher H. Loeber was called as Concordia College's first full time director and president in 1885 at the age of 56. He had served as pastor at St. Stephen's Lutheran Church in Milwaukee. Loeber served as Concordia's president until...
    • Rincker, Leroy C.

    • College presidents; College teachers; Universities and colleges, faculty; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee;
    • Professor Leroy C. Rincker was appointed president of Concordia College in 1935 and served until sudden death in 1953. Rincker was the first Concordia president to have come directly from the faculty ranks. He was the first Concordia president to...
    • Stuenkel, Walter W.

    • College presidents; College teachers; Universities and colleges, faculty; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee;
    • Rev. Walter W. Stuenkel was called as president of Concordia College in 1953 and served until 1977.
    • Studying in Wunder Dormitory

    • Dormitories Wisconsin Milwaukee; Student housing Wisconsin Milwaukee; Students Wisconsin Milwaukee; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee;
    • Students in a Wunder Dormitory living room, ca. 1950.
    • Tower House

    • Dwellings Wisconsin Milwaukee; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and Colleges-History;
    • The building known as the Tower House, built during the 1850's, housed the Admissions office for the Concordia campus in Milwaukee. It is still standing in the neighborhood now known as Historic Concordia.
    • Concordia College Orchestra

    • Orchestra; Musical groups; Performing groups; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee;
    • Concordia College Orchestra ca.1940, assembled in front of the pipe organ in the chapel located inside Recitation Hall.
    • Concordia campus, aerial view

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; College campuses; Concordia campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Academic buildings
    • An aerial view of the Concordia campus in Milwaukee, WI, looking north. Visible Concordia buildings include Wunder Dormitory, Pritzlaff Dormitories, and the Gymnasium Building. Also visible are the track, tennis courts, and baseball field. In...
    • Rincker Library

    • Concordia College Library; Academic libraries; Library buildings; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee;
    • Front entrance of Rincker Library, completed in 1942.
    • Renovation of Wunder Hall dormitory, 1924

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; Wunder Hall; Student housing; Student dormitories; Construction; Renovations; College campuses; Concordia campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Academic buildings
    • Construction of Wunder Hall was begun in 1924 in response to the growth of enrollment during the post-war period.
    • Reading in Rincker Library

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; Academic buildings; Academic libraries; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; College campuses; Concordia campus; Students; Male students
    • Students reading in Rincker Library, with windows in background.
    • Trinity School, 1880

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; College campuses; Concordia campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Academic buildings
    • The basement of the Trinity School building is where Concordia College began. Classes were held in a basement room and the first students, from outside the Milwaukee area, were housed in the homes of Lutheran families.
    • Concordia student union, 1965

    • Universities and colleges--History; Lutheran universities and colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; College campuses; Concordia campus; Academic buildings
    • The student union as it appeared during 1965.
    • Tours of Holy Family College

    • Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity; Holy Family College; Silver Lake College of the Holy Family; Buildings; College campus; Social events; Tours
    • Tours of the newly constructed Holy Family College highlighted the open house, attended by more than 15, 000 people. Small groups were taken through the building by Sisters who acted as tour guides.
    • Ariel view of Holy Family College

    • Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity; Holy Family College; Silver Lake College of the Holy Family; Buildings design and construction
    • Ariel view of Holy Family Convent in the background along with the city of Manitowoc.
    • Murphy Center foyer, 1951

    • Murphy Center; Academic buildings; Viterbo campus
    • The Murphy Center foyer, on the second floor, as it appeared in 1951. Today, the two wooden office doors in the background have been replaced by a large floor-ceiling glass window with glass door, and behind it resides the office of the Academic...
    • Students of Saint Regina Academy, 1892

    • Universities and colleges--History; Saint Regina Academy; Edgewood Villa; Students; Student life; Children; College campuses; Edgewood campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Madison; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories; Dominican...
    • Students of St. Regina Academy on the Edgewood Villa steps, in 1892, the year before the fire. The youngest students, in white pinafores, are "minims." This picture is said to include at least two of the children who perished in the 1893 fire.
    • Edgewood Villa, ca. 1891

    • Universities and colleges--History; Saint Regina Academy; Edgewood Villa; Students; Student life; Children; College campuses; Edgewood campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Madison; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories; Dominican...
    • The Edgewood Villa front porch, with some St. Regina Academy students on the drive, circa 1891.
    • Cadwallader Colden Washburn, ca. 1871

    • Universities and colleges--History; College campuses; Edgewood campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Madison; Academic buildings; Washburn family; Governors; Cadwallader Colden Washburn; Dominican Sisters of Sinsinawa
    • Cadwallader Colden Washburn (1818-1882), shown here around 1871, was Governor of Wisconsin from 1872 through 1874. He donated the Edgewood campus property to the Dominican Sisters of Sinsinawa on September 5, 1881.
    • Brockway College

    • Brockway College; Ripon College; East Hall; East College; Ripon campus; Academic buildings
    • An early sketch of Ripon College, then named Brockway College. The building depicted is currently known as East Hall.
    • Blueprints for the building of Murphy Center, ca. 1941

    • Murphy Center; Academic buildings; Viterbo campus; Blueprints; Architecture; Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration; Viterbo's founders
    • Newly named and accredited by the University of Wisconsin, Viterbo College, then housed in the Motherhouse of the Franciscan Sisters (what is today St. Rose Convent), needed its own building in order to further develop its potential as a...
    • Murphy Center ground breaking, 1940

    • Murphy Center; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Ground breaking ceremonies
    • Murphy Center's ground breaking ceremony on September 5, 1940, was described in the local paper as a "colorful event". The presense of sisters, white-veiled novices, postulants in uniform, and the American and Papal flags waving in the autumn...
    • Viterbo Nursing Center dedication, 1970

    • Viterbo Nursing Center; School of Nursing; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Renovations
    • Viterbo's Nursing Center was dedicated on October 30, 1970, culminating a string of campus improvements and additions initiated during Sister Grace McDonald's tenure in office. The dedication ceremony, conducted by (from right to left) Bishop...
    • Albrecht, M.J.F.

    • College presidents; College teachers; Universities and colleges, faculty; Concordia College; Universities and Colleges-History; Lutheran universities and colleges-History; Buildings Wisconsin Milwaukee;
    • Professor Max Albrecht served as the second President of Concordia College from 1893 to 1921. He was born in Germany in 1867 and graduated from the St. Louis seminary in 1883. Professor Albrecht served as pastor for several congregations before...
    • Fine Arts Center groundbreaking ceremony, 1969

    • Fine Arts Center; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Groundbreakings; Ceremonies
    • The groundbreaking for Viterbo's Fine Arts Center was held on March 19, 1969. Bishop Frederick Freking and Sister Grace McDonald jointly turned the first spadeful of earth. A large crowd of college and convent personnel and friends of the...
    • Ariel view of Lakeland Campus

    • Buildings; College campuses; Grounds
    • This ariel photograph was taken around the summer of 1963. The partially constructed campus center is in the middle left. The ground breaking ceremony for the campus center was held on Oct. 5th 1963, per the October edition of the Lakeland Mirror.
    • Two students ouside Jubilee dorm

    • Buildings; Students; Dormitories
    • This photograph appears to be taken ouside of Jubilee dorm during the 1932 school year. Names on the back of the photograph identify: "Irene and Steggie." The 1932 school year book does include an Irene Bauer and a Reuben Stegmeier.
    • Students watching a tennis match

    • Buildings; Students; Grounds
    • This photograph appears to be taken outside Old Main on the Western side. At this time there was no grand staircase descending out of the Western doors. The gentleman seem to be watching, or about ready to watch a tennis match between friends.
    • Student at rest ouside dorm

    • Students; Grounds; Buildings; Dormitories
    • This photograph appears to be taken outside Jubilee Dorm. The man pictured is John Seidler, then a "Middler" in the seminary program; there were three years in the seminary program.
    • Students outisde of Old Main

    • Buildings; Students; Grounds
    • This photograph appears to be taken outside Old Main on the Western side. At this time there was no grand staircase descending out the Western doors. The gentleman seem to be watching or about ready to watch a tennis match between friends. The...
    • Students outside of Jubilee Hall

    • Buildings; Students; Grounds
    • The students in this picture are located on the driveway southwest of Jubilee Hall. The water tower is in the background. The backside of the photograph is labeled, "Gertie and Irene, 1932".)

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK