Skip to main content

Past and Present

You've searched: Past and Present

  • Geographic location: Viterbo
(19 results)

Display: 50

    • V-76ers to V-Hawks name change proclamation, 1986

    • Athletics; Sports; V-Hawks; V-76ers
    • The name and logo of the Viterbo athletic teams was changed from the V-76ers to the Viterbo V-Hawks on May 9, 1986. Viterbo sports teams still go by the "V-Hawk" name to this day. The change was made official by this proclamation, issued by...
    • Advertisement for Viterbo College, 1967

    • Advertising; Public relations; Promotions; Marketing
    • This advertisement for Viterbo College, part of Viterbo's initial attention to public relations and image advertising, appeared in the East Central edition of the July 7, 1967 issue of TIME magazine.
    • Ceremony of Investiture, 1958

    • Graduations; Ceremonies; Commencements
    • Viterbo's 1958 graduation ceremony was held in the former gym, located in Murphy Center, the area that is currently the southeast corner of Viterbo's library.
    • McDonald Hall demolition, 1975

    • McDonald Hall; Demolitions; Razings; Student housing; Student dormitories; Residence halls
    • McDonald Hall, the first dorm for men, was razed in March, 1975, and was later replaced by McDonald Terrace, an apartment-style residence hall.
    • Plaque commemorating Marian Hall North's groundbreaking, 1965

    • Marian Hall North; Marian Hall South; Groundbreakings; Ceremonies; Student housing; Student dormitories
    • The groundbreaking ceremony for Marian Hall North, Viterbo's first combination residence hall and dining facility, was held on May 28, 1965. Sister Grace McDonald (front) and Mother Ann Marie Kerper break the first spade full of dirt, while Bishop...
    • Student dormitories, 1967

    • Student housing; Student dormitories; St. Catherine Hall; Clare Hall; Serra Hall; Agnes Hall; Residence halls
    • These houses served as dormitories for lay students before the completion of Marian Hall, north wing, in 1967. The upper left picture shows Serra Hall, razed when the Fine Arts Center was constructed. The lower left picture is St. Catherine Hall,...
    • Murphy Center foyer, 1951

    • Murphy Center; Academic buildings; Viterbo campus
    • The Murphy Center foyer, on the second floor, as it appeared in 1951. Today, the two wooden office doors in the background have been replaced by a large floor-ceiling glass window with glass door, and behind it resides the office of the Academic...
    • Admission of Men to Viterbo, 1971

    • Co-education; Students; Admissions; Male students; Student life
    • Viterbo's willingness to adapt and change with the times resulted in tremendous growth and development. Viterbo admitted its first laywomen in 1943. Then, in 1971, Viterbo officially became a co-educational institution and began to recruit male...
    • Viterbo College's seal, original design, 1960

    • Seals; Logos; Emblems; Insignia
    • Viterbo's original seal was designed early in the 1960's by Sister Imogene Theile, a Franciscan Sister of Perpetual Adoration (F.S.P.A.) who was also a faculty member in the art department. Designed according to the science of heraldry, it...
    • Blueprints for the building of Murphy Center, ca. 1941

    • Murphy Center; Academic buildings; Viterbo campus; Blueprints; Architecture; Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration; Viterbo's founders
    • Newly named and accredited by the University of Wisconsin, Viterbo College, then housed in the Motherhouse of the Franciscan Sisters (what is today St. Rose Convent), needed its own building in order to further develop its potential as a...
    • Murphy Center ground breaking, 1940

    • Murphy Center; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Ground breaking ceremonies
    • Murphy Center's ground breaking ceremony on September 5, 1940, was described in the local paper as a "colorful event". The presense of sisters, white-veiled novices, postulants in uniform, and the American and Papal flags waving in the autumn...
    • Viterbo Nursing Center dedication, 1970

    • Viterbo Nursing Center; School of Nursing; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Renovations
    • Viterbo's Nursing Center was dedicated on October 30, 1970, culminating a string of campus improvements and additions initiated during Sister Grace McDonald's tenure in office. The dedication ceremony, conducted by (from right to left) Bishop...
    • Fine Arts Center groundbreaking ceremony, 1969

    • Fine Arts Center; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Groundbreakings; Ceremonies
    • The groundbreaking for Viterbo's Fine Arts Center was held on March 19, 1969. Bishop Frederick Freking and Sister Grace McDonald jointly turned the first spadeful of earth. A large crowd of college and convent personnel and friends of the...


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search