Skip to main content

Past and Present

You've searched: Past and Present

  • Description: three
(11 results)



Display: 50

    • Lakeland campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall, ca. 1875

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; Rural land use; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; Old Main Hall; Student housing; Student dormitories; Residence halls; Assembly halls
    • The southeastern corner of the campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall. In the distance to the right are the three original main campus buildings, and to the left is Bossard Hall, which was completed in 1879.
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus, ca. 1875

    • North Hall; Assembly halls; Lakeland campus; Theological seminaries; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus. The center building came first in 1862. North Hall, the northernmost structure, was next, completed just prior to December 25, 1873. The south building was built last in 1876. (Description from "A...
    • First Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis, 1887

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Academic buildings; College campuses; Alverno campus; Convents; Saint Joseph Convent; Motherhouses; Milwaukee Motherhouse of...
    • The first Milwaukee Motherhouse of the School Sisters of St. Francis, St. Joseph Convent, was erected in 1887. It was built to house St. Joseph Normal School, one of the three predecessor institutions that merged to form Alverno College. Until...
    • Campbellsport Motherhouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis, 1874

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Milwaukee; Women's higher education; Motherhouses; Campbellsport Mothershouse of the School Sisters of Saint Francis; Academic buildings; College campuses; Alverno...
    • This print appeared in the "Illustrated Historical Atlas of Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin," 1874. Depicted is the Congregation of the School Sisters of St. Francis, which was founded on April 28, 1874, in the mid-Wisconsin town of New Cassel, later...
    • Foundation for Holy Family College

    • Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity; Holy Family College; Silver Lake College of the Holy Family; chapels; building design and construction
    • Major portion of the foundation for the three million dollar Holy Family College, located west and north of Holy Family Convent at Silver Lake. The building will be more than 600 feet long with a maximum depth of one of the wings 300 feet.
    • Viterbo College's seal, original design, 1960

    • Seals; Logos; Emblems; Insignia
    • Viterbo's original seal was designed early in the 1960's by Sister Imogene Theile, a Franciscan Sister of Perpetual Adoration (F.S.P.A.) who was also a faculty member in the art department. Designed according to the science of heraldry, it...
    • College Hill, 1880s

    • Ripon College; East Hall; Middle Hall; West Hall; Athenian Hall
    • Early sketch of Ripon College, depicting the three original buildings and the Athenian Library
    • Viterbo Nursing Center dedication, 1970

    • Viterbo Nursing Center; School of Nursing; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Renovations
    • Viterbo's Nursing Center was dedicated on October 30, 1970, culminating a string of campus improvements and additions initiated during Sister Grace McDonald's tenure in office. The dedication ceremony, conducted by (from right to left) Bishop...
    • Fine Arts Center groundbreaking ceremony, 1969

    • Fine Arts Center; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Groundbreakings; Ceremonies
    • The groundbreaking for Viterbo's Fine Arts Center was held on March 19, 1969. Bishop Frederick Freking and Sister Grace McDonald jointly turned the first spadeful of earth. A large crowd of college and convent personnel and friends of the...
    • Student at rest ouside dorm

    • Students; Grounds; Buildings; Dormitories
    • This photograph appears to be taken outside Jubilee Dorm. The man pictured is John Seidler, then a "Middler" in the seminary program; there were three years in the seminary program.
    • Saint Francis Hospital School of Nursing bulletin, 1963-1965

    • St. Francis Hospital School of Nursing; School of Nursing; Academic departments
    • The St. Francis Hospital School of Nursing had its inception in 1883 when local doctors began a course of essential nursing care for the sisters who were to staff St. Francis Hospital of La Crosse, western Wisconsin's pioneer health care...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK