Skip to main content

Past and Present

You've searched: Past and Present

  • Description: right
(11 results)



Display: 50

    • Lakeland campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall, ca. 1875

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; Rural land use; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; Old Main Hall; Student housing; Student dormitories; Residence halls; Assembly halls
    • The southeastern corner of the campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall. In the distance to the right are the three original main campus buildings, and to the left is Bossard Hall, which was completed in 1879.
    • The Lakeland Muskies basketball team practices, 1949

    • Basketball; Basketball teams; Sports teams; College sports; Athletics; Student activities; Students; Theological seminaries
    • The 1949 Mission House (Lakeland) Muskies basketball team practices. In the foreground are Carl Mohr (left) ,Carl Serr (right), and coach Marinus Kregel.
    • Lakeland's golf team, 1950

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; College sports; Athletics; Students; Male students; Lay students; Student activities; Extra-curricular activities; Sports teams; Golf; Golf teams
    • The 1950 golf team, from left to right, includes Bob Rausch, Gil Goodrich, Stan Suerer, and Jack Leverenz.
    • Lakeland maintenance staff, 1950

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; Staff; Maintenance workers; Janitors; Custodians
    • The 1950 maintenance staff, from left to right, includes John Hintz, Stillman Diehl, and George Roseman.
    • St. Rose Normal School, ca. 1916-1920

    • St. Rose Normal School; Motherhouse of the Franciscan Sisters; St. Rose Convent; Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration
    • Viterbo began as the St. Rose Normal School, which was origianlly housed in what is now the St. Rose Convent. In 1868, at the invitation of Bishop Heiss, some of the Sisters moved from Milwaukee to La Crosse. The St. Rose Motherhouse was...
    • Student dormitories, 1967

    • Student housing; Student dormitories; St. Catherine Hall; Clare Hall; Serra Hall; Agnes Hall; Residence halls
    • These houses served as dormitories for lay students before the completion of Marian Hall, north wing, in 1967. The upper left picture shows Serra Hall, razed when the Fine Arts Center was constructed. The lower left picture is St. Catherine Hall,...
    • Viterbo College's seal, original design, 1960

    • Seals; Logos; Emblems; Insignia
    • Viterbo's original seal was designed early in the 1960's by Sister Imogene Theile, a Franciscan Sister of Perpetual Adoration (F.S.P.A.) who was also a faculty member in the art department. Designed according to the science of heraldry, it...
    • Cycling Club, 1893

    • Ripon College; Sports; Cycling; Louis Reed; Team Photos
    • Ripon College cycling club, with captain Louis Reed at the far right, leaning against the bicycle.
    • Viterbo Nursing Center dedication, 1970

    • Viterbo Nursing Center; School of Nursing; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Renovations
    • Viterbo's Nursing Center was dedicated on October 30, 1970, culminating a string of campus improvements and additions initiated during Sister Grace McDonald's tenure in office. The dedication ceremony, conducted by (from right to left) Bishop...
    • Students outisde of Old Main

    • Buildings; Students; Grounds
    • This photograph appears to be taken outside Old Main on the Western side. At this time there was no grand staircase descending out the Western doors. The gentleman seem to be watching or about ready to watch a tennis match between friends. The...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK