Skip to main content

Past and Present

You've searched: Past and Present

  • Description: History
(17 results)



Display: 50

    • V-76ers to V-Hawks name change proclamation, 1986

    • Athletics; Sports; V-Hawks; V-76ers
    • The name and logo of the Viterbo athletic teams was changed from the V-76ers to the Viterbo V-Hawks on May 9, 1986. Viterbo sports teams still go by the "V-Hawk" name to this day. The change was made official by this proclamation, issued by...
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus, ca. 1875

    • North Hall; Assembly halls; Lakeland campus; Theological seminaries; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus. The center building came first in 1862. North Hall, the northernmost structure, was next, completed just prior to December 25, 1873. The south building was built last in 1876. (Description from "A...
    • Sister M. Mira Studer, author of "Foundations of the School Sisters of Saint Francis,"...

    • Universities and colleges--History; Women's colleges--History; Monastic and religious life of women--History; Women's higher education; Faculty; School Sisters of Saint Francis; History; History education; Science; Science education; Biology;...
    • Sister M. Mira Studer (1889-1970), shown here on the cover of the Winter 1963 issue of the "Light on the School Sisters of St. Francis" magazine, taught history at the convent from 1919 though 1936 and taught biology at Alverno from 1936 through...
    • "Foundations of the School Sisters of St. Francis" dissertation, page 1, ca. 1930-1950

    • Universities and Colleges--History; Women's Colleges--History; Monastic and Religious Life of Women--History; Women's higher education; Students; Female students; Faculty; School Sisters of Saint Francis
    • This dissertation, written by Sr. M. Mira Studer, is a descriptive account of the early history of the School Sisters of St. Francis (SSSF) and details the founding of the first SSSF Motherhouse at Schwarzach, Germany, as well as the movement of...
    • "Foundations of the School Sisters of St. Frances," dissertation cover, ca. 1930-1950

    • Universities and Colleges--History; Women's Colleges--History; Monastic and Religious Life of Women--History; Women's higher education; Students; Female students; Faculty; School Sisters of Saint Francis
    • This dissertation, written by Sr. M. Mira Studer, is a descriptive account of the early history of the School Sisters of St. Francis (SSSF) and details the founding of the first SSSF Motherhouse at Schwarzach, Germany, as well as the movement of...
    • St. Rose Normal School, ca. 1916-1920

    • St. Rose Normal School; Motherhouse of the Franciscan Sisters; St. Rose Convent; Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration
    • Viterbo began as the St. Rose Normal School, which was origianlly housed in what is now the St. Rose Convent. In 1868, at the invitation of Bishop Heiss, some of the Sisters moved from Milwaukee to La Crosse. The St. Rose Motherhouse was...
    • Plaque commemorating Marian Hall North's groundbreaking, 1965

    • Marian Hall North; Marian Hall South; Groundbreakings; Ceremonies; Student housing; Student dormitories
    • The groundbreaking ceremony for Marian Hall North, Viterbo's first combination residence hall and dining facility, was held on May 28, 1965. Sister Grace McDonald (front) and Mother Ann Marie Kerper break the first spade full of dirt, while Bishop...
    • St. Wenceslaus Church

    • St. Wenceslaus Church; Viterbo College Church; San Damiano Chapel; Religion; Worship; Worship centers; Catholic churches
    • Viterbo purchased the St. Wenceslaus school and church buildings in January 1968, after the parishes of St. Joseph the Workman and St. Wenceslaus merged and decided to build elsewhere. The former elementary school would be renovated to become...
    • Admission of Men to Viterbo, 1971

    • Co-education; Students; Admissions; Male students; Student life
    • Viterbo's willingness to adapt and change with the times resulted in tremendous growth and development. Viterbo admitted its first laywomen in 1943. Then, in 1971, Viterbo officially became a co-educational institution and began to recruit male...
    • Fransican Sisters' Milwaukee convent

    • Milwaukee convent; Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration; Viterbo's founders
    • The early Fransican Sisters of Perpetual Adoration emigrated from Bavaria and settled in Milwaukee, where they built their first convent in 1861, seen here in this sketch. In 1868, at the invitation of Bishop Heiss, some of the Sisters moved west...
    • Viterbo College's seal, original design, 1960

    • Seals; Logos; Emblems; Insignia
    • Viterbo's original seal was designed early in the 1960's by Sister Imogene Theile, a Franciscan Sister of Perpetual Adoration (F.S.P.A.) who was also a faculty member in the art department. Designed according to the science of heraldry, it...
    • Blueprints for the building of Murphy Center, ca. 1941

    • Murphy Center; Academic buildings; Viterbo campus; Blueprints; Architecture; Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration; Viterbo's founders
    • Newly named and accredited by the University of Wisconsin, Viterbo College, then housed in the Motherhouse of the Franciscan Sisters (what is today St. Rose Convent), needed its own building in order to further develop its potential as a...
    • Student actor from Ripon Historical Pageant, 1910

    • Students; Theatre; Theater; Pageants; Celebrations; Historical reenactments; Ingram Hall; Jean Nicolet
    • A student actor dressed as Jean Nicolet poses in front of Ingram Hall. The 1910 Ripon Historical Pageant featured reenactments of major events in Wisconsin and United States history.
    • Viterbo Nursing Center dedication, 1970

    • Viterbo Nursing Center; School of Nursing; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Renovations
    • Viterbo's Nursing Center was dedicated on October 30, 1970, culminating a string of campus improvements and additions initiated during Sister Grace McDonald's tenure in office. The dedication ceremony, conducted by (from right to left) Bishop...
    • Saint Francis Hospital School of Nursing bulletin, 1963-1965

    • St. Francis Hospital School of Nursing; School of Nursing; Academic departments
    • The St. Francis Hospital School of Nursing had its inception in 1883 when local doctors began a course of essential nursing care for the sisters who were to staff St. Francis Hospital of La Crosse, western Wisconsin's pioneer health care...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK