Skip to main content

Past and Present

You've searched: Past and Present

  • Description: Center
(16 results)



Display: 50

    • V-76ers to V-Hawks name change proclamation, 1986

    • Athletics; Sports; V-Hawks; V-76ers
    • The name and logo of the Viterbo athletic teams was changed from the V-76ers to the Viterbo V-Hawks on May 9, 1986. Viterbo sports teams still go by the "V-Hawk" name to this day. The change was made official by this proclamation, issued by...
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus, ca. 1875

    • North Hall; Assembly halls; Lakeland campus; Theological seminaries; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus. The center building came first in 1862. North Hall, the northernmost structure, was next, completed just prior to December 25, 1873. The south building was built last in 1876. (Description from "A...
    • Shalom Day Care Center

    • Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity; Holy Family College; Silver Lake College of the Holy Family; child care
    • The faculty, staff and students take advantage of the Shalom Day Care Center at Silver Lake College of the Holy Family, Manitowoc while they are at work or in classes. They are assured that their children are in good hands.
    • Ceremony of Investiture, 1958

    • Graduations; Ceremonies; Commencements
    • Viterbo's 1958 graduation ceremony was held in the former gym, located in Murphy Center, the area that is currently the southeast corner of Viterbo's library.
    • Student dormitories, 1967

    • Student housing; Student dormitories; St. Catherine Hall; Clare Hall; Serra Hall; Agnes Hall; Residence halls
    • These houses served as dormitories for lay students before the completion of Marian Hall, north wing, in 1967. The upper left picture shows Serra Hall, razed when the Fine Arts Center was constructed. The lower left picture is St. Catherine Hall,...
    • St. Wenceslaus Church

    • St. Wenceslaus Church; Viterbo College Church; San Damiano Chapel; Religion; Worship; Worship centers; Catholic churches
    • Viterbo purchased the St. Wenceslaus school and church buildings in January 1968, after the parishes of St. Joseph the Workman and St. Wenceslaus merged and decided to build elsewhere. The former elementary school would be renovated to become...
    • Murphy Center foyer, 1951

    • Murphy Center; Academic buildings; Viterbo campus
    • The Murphy Center foyer, on the second floor, as it appeared in 1951. Today, the two wooden office doors in the background have been replaced by a large floor-ceiling glass window with glass door, and behind it resides the office of the Academic...
    • Murphy Center ground breaking, 1940

    • Murphy Center; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Ground breaking ceremonies
    • Murphy Center's ground breaking ceremony on September 5, 1940, was described in the local paper as a "colorful event". The presense of sisters, white-veiled novices, postulants in uniform, and the American and Papal flags waving in the autumn...
    • Ripon baseball team, ca. 1890

    • Students; College sports; Athletics; Sports teams; Baseball; Baseball teams; Samuel Pedrick
    • The Ripon College baseball team, probably sometime during the 1890s, with alumnus Sam Pedrick pictured in the center.
    • Viterbo Nursing Center dedication, 1970

    • Viterbo Nursing Center; School of Nursing; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Renovations
    • Viterbo's Nursing Center was dedicated on October 30, 1970, culminating a string of campus improvements and additions initiated during Sister Grace McDonald's tenure in office. The dedication ceremony, conducted by (from right to left) Bishop...
    • Fine Arts Center groundbreaking ceremony, 1969

    • Fine Arts Center; Viterbo campus; Academic buildings; Groundbreakings; Ceremonies
    • The groundbreaking for Viterbo's Fine Arts Center was held on March 19, 1969. Bishop Frederick Freking and Sister Grace McDonald jointly turned the first spadeful of earth. A large crowd of college and convent personnel and friends of the...
    • Ariel view of Lakeland Campus

    • Buildings; College campuses; Grounds
    • This ariel photograph was taken around the summer of 1963. The partially constructed campus center is in the middle left. The ground breaking ceremony for the campus center was held on Oct. 5th 1963, per the October edition of the Lakeland Mirror.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK