Skip to main content

Past and Present

You've searched: Past and Present

  • Submitting institution: Lakeland
(49 results)



Display: 50

    • Old Main Hall dedication, 1888

    • Universities and colleges--History; Building dedications; Dedications; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; Assembly halls; Theological seminaries; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Old Main Hall; Student dormitories; Student...
    • The Dedication ceremony for Old Main Hall. Mr. H.A. Muelmeier officiated, in which he reminded his audience of the institution's roots in the missionary efforts of the church and he honored the memory of Dr. Bossard and Treasurer Kluge.
    • Lakeland campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall, ca. 1875

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; Rural land use; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; Old Main Hall; Student housing; Student dormitories; Residence halls; Assembly halls
    • The southeastern corner of the campus prior to the building of Old Main Hall. In the distance to the right are the three original main campus buildings, and to the left is Bossard Hall, which was completed in 1879.
    • Donation of the former Immanuel church building, 1911

    • Universities and colleges--History; Gymnasiums; Relocation; Assembly halls; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Theological seminaries; Renovations; Churches; Chapels; Religious buildings; Worship...
    • The nearby Immanuel congregation built a new church at a different location and donated this building to Mission House in 1911. Soon after, it became the school's new gymnasium.
    • Lakeland commencement ceremony, ca. 1919

    • Universities and colleges--History; Buildings--Wisconsin--Franklin; Academic buildings; College campuses; Lakeland campus; Commencements; Ceremonies; Graduations; Graduates; Assembly halls; Theological seminaries; Mission House
    • This Lakeland commencement ceremony took place sometime around 1919. The marching band had begun to lead the crowd over to the new dormitory, Jubilee Hall. Currently known as Walter A. Kreuger Hall or Wak, Jubilee Hall was finished a year...
    • Mission House-Lakeland band, 1917-1918

    • College bands; Music; Theological seminaries; Musical groups; Students; Faculty
    • The 1917-1918 Mission House band, directed by Mr. H. Netzel, gave concerts throughout the area that year, including Johnsonville, Kiel, New Holstein, Elkhart Lake, Plymouth, and Howard's Grove. (Description from the 1917-1918 yearbook.)
    • First women to live in Lakeland's dormitory, 1931

    • Universities and colleges--History; Co-education; Students; Lay students; Female students; Admissions; Student housing; Student dormitories; Theological seminaries; Mission House dormitory; Residence halls; Student life
    • In the fall of 1931 Lakeland began housing women on campus--the first six were freshmen, and stayed in the Mission House dormitory. They included Leona Neuhas, Elsa Schmidt, Marie Freitag, Lotta Hegnauer, Irene Bauer, and Irene Krostag.
    • Students on "Potatoe day," ca. 1890-1900

    • Theological seminaries; Lakeland campus; Students; Festivals; Student activities; Celebrations
    • "Potatoe day" was an annual event held in the fall. The entire student body headed to school owned fields that surrounded campus to dig up potatos.
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus, ca. 1875

    • North Hall; Assembly halls; Lakeland campus; Theological seminaries; Academic buildings; Student housing; Student dormitories
    • The first three buildings on the Lakeland campus. The center building came first in 1862. North Hall, the northernmost structure, was next, completed just prior to December 25, 1873. The south building was built last in 1876. (Description from "A...
    • Mission House-Lakeland homecoming court, 1949

    • Homecoming ceremonies; Ceremonies; Celebrations; Dances; Student activities; Students
    • The 1949 Homecoming court. The queen was Evelyn Rosin. The court consisted of Henry Heinbuch, Marilyn Huenink, Kenneth Pitcher, Colombina Echeverri, and George Degen.
    • The Lakeland Muskies basketball team practices, 1949

    • Basketball; Basketball teams; Sports teams; College sports; Athletics; Student activities; Students; Theological seminaries
    • The 1949 Mission House (Lakeland) Muskies basketball team practices. In the foreground are Carl Mohr (left) ,Carl Serr (right), and coach Marinus Kregel.
    • The weekly radio program, "Voice of the Campus," 1949

    • Student activities; Students; College radio broadcasts; Radio programs; Radio; Advertising; Public relations; Promotions; Marketing; WHBL; Drama; Plays; College theatre; College theater; Theatre; Theater
    • The radio program titled, "Voice of the Campus," was performed weekly by the Mission House-Lakeland theatre group, the "Campus Players." The program was made available through local radio station WHBL and described Mission House-Lakeland campus...
    • Lakeland newspaper staff, 1950

    • Universities and colleges--History; Students; Co-education; Male students; Female students; Lay students; Student life; Student activities; Extra-curricular activities; College student newspapers and periodicals; Theological seminaries
    • The 1950 staff of the "Mirror," the Mission House/Lakeland College newpspaper.
    • Lakeland's Christian Fellowship Association, 1950

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; Student life; Student activities; Extra-curricular activities; Students; Co-education; Male students; Female students; Lay students; Religious groups; Social groups
    • A fairly new organization in 1950, the Christian Fellowship Association met for an assortment of social activities. It also held meetings with the youth organization at the local Emmanuel Church. Harold Hoeft was president during the first...
    • Lakeland's Zeta Chi Fraternity, 1950

    • Universities and colleges--History; Student activities; Extra-curricular activities; Fraternities; Social groups; Students; Lay students; Male students
    • The 1950 Zeta Chi fraternity assembled at the Lakeland/Mission House. Zeta Chi was founded in 1933. The Zeta Chi motto is, "I seek to serve." The two presidents during the 1950-1951 school year were Kenneth Worthman and Robert Spatt.
    • Lakeland's golf team, 1950

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; College sports; Athletics; Students; Male students; Lay students; Student activities; Extra-curricular activities; Sports teams; Golf; Golf teams
    • The 1950 golf team, from left to right, includes Bob Rausch, Gil Goodrich, Stan Suerer, and Jack Leverenz.
    • Lakeland maintenance staff, 1950

    • Universities and colleges--History; Theological seminaries; Staff; Maintenance workers; Janitors; Custodians
    • The 1950 maintenance staff, from left to right, includes John Hintz, Stillman Diehl, and George Roseman.
    • Students using the Lakeland library, 1950

    • Universities and colleges--History; Academic libraries; Students; Co-education; Male students; Female students; Lay students; Reading rooms; Theological seminaries; Study environments; Student life
    • Two students use what is currently the second floor of the library (it was the first level in 1950). In the lower right-hand corner the circulation desk is visible.
    • Ariel view of Lakeland Campus

    • Buildings; College campuses; Grounds
    • This ariel photograph was taken around the summer of 1963. The partially constructed campus center is in the middle left. The ground breaking ceremony for the campus center was held on Oct. 5th 1963, per the October edition of the Lakeland Mirror.
    • Two students ouside Jubilee dorm

    • Buildings; Students; Dormitories
    • This photograph appears to be taken ouside of Jubilee dorm during the 1932 school year. Names on the back of the photograph identify: "Irene and Steggie." The 1932 school year book does include an Irene Bauer and a Reuben Stegmeier.
    • Students watching a tennis match

    • Buildings; Students; Grounds
    • This photograph appears to be taken outside Old Main on the Western side. At this time there was no grand staircase descending out of the Western doors. The gentleman seem to be watching, or about ready to watch a tennis match between friends.
    • Student at rest ouside dorm

    • Students; Grounds; Buildings; Dormitories
    • This photograph appears to be taken outside Jubilee Dorm. The man pictured is John Seidler, then a "Middler" in the seminary program; there were three years in the seminary program.
    • Students outisde of Old Main

    • Buildings; Students; Grounds
    • This photograph appears to be taken outside Old Main on the Western side. At this time there was no grand staircase descending out the Western doors. The gentleman seem to be watching or about ready to watch a tennis match between friends. The...
    • Students outside of Jubilee Hall

    • Buildings; Students; Grounds
    • The students in this picture are located on the driveway southwest of Jubilee Hall. The water tower is in the background. The backside of the photograph is labeled, "Gertie and Irene, 1932".)
    • Annual clean up day, 1941

    • Students; Grounds; Gymnasiums; Athletics; Campuses; Buildings
    • Students have finished planting a tree in front of the library. Founders gymnasium is in the background.
    • Initiation Week, 1942

    • People; Students; Celebrations
    • This is a photograph of freshman co-eds during initiation week. The girls are holding place cards with their names on them.
    • Digging a hole for a tree, 1941

    • People; Students; Campuses; Buildings
    • The students in this photograph are identitified as W. Kuentzel and P. Schnake. They are taking part in the annual Clean-Up Day which took place on April 28th, 1941.
    • Watching baseball, 1942

    • People; Students; Campuses; Athletics; Baseball
    • The students in the photograph are identified as Zelda, Lois, and Eunice. They are watching a baseball grame, it appears, West of Prof. Row.
    • Students leaving commencement, 1942

    • Commencements; Ceremonies; Celebrations; Graduations; People; Students; Professors; Faculty; Staff; Campuses; Buildings; Gymnasiums
    • In this photograph graduates, professors, and family members are leaving the commencement exercises which were held in Founders Gymnasium.
    • Heading to chapel, 1942

    • Chapels; Religious groups; People; Students; Buildings; Campuses; Religious services; Churches
    • This photograph shows students heading out to Chapel from Jubilee Hall. Paul Olm is identified as leading the way.
    • May Day, 1941

    • Festivals; People; Students; Ceremonies; Celebrations
    • This photograph shows a scene from the May Day festival. It is labeled: "burying of queen, planting tree ceremony."
    • Day of graduation, 1941

    • Commencements; Graduations; Ceremonies; People; Students; Buildings; Campuses
    • This photograph is labeled, "Mr. and Mrs. Dobay on the day of graduation. June 8th, 1941." Old Main is seen in the background.
    • May Day royalty, 1941

    • Festivals; Ceremonies; Celebrations; Presentations; People; Students
    • A presentation is given with the May Day king and queen seated behind in June of 1941.
    • Troubadors depart, 1942

    • People; Students; Musical groups; Concerts
    • The Troubadors are leaving for a trip. The picture is labeled as taken on March 25, 1942. The Troubadors, originally directed by Theodore Winkler, made an annual concert tour throughout the surrounding communities.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK